Dee Bee, Dinero shine in Horsham Cup heats

There was no shortage of star power at Horsham on Friday night with five heats of the CHS Group Horsham Cup run over the 485 metres.

Many of the state’s fastest greyhounds, including Australia’s premier sprinter Aston Dee Bee, travelled from all over the state for a chance at a share in next Saturday’s $67,000 final.

While Alpha Georgiou put Aston Dee Bee to the sword in the early stages of the fifth and final heat, the reigning Melbourne Cup winner stamped his authority and cruised to a seven length win.

However, the fastest heat winner was up-and-comer Tiempo Dinero, trained in the north of the state at Kialla by Michael Carter, who clocked a time of 27.06sec, half a length superior to Aston Dee Bee.

Among the other big names in contention for next weekend’s $47,000 first prize include Jimmy Newob, runner-up in last week’s $40,000 to-the-winner Cyril Rowe final at Bulli in NSW, and dual Group 1 winning superstar Out Of Range.

The 2018 Group 2 CHS Group Horsham Cup will be run on Saturday 10 March in conjunction with Horsham’s annual fishing competition, which brings a flood of tourists to the town.

HEAT WINNERS (fastest to slowest):
Tiempo Dinero (27.06sec BEST)
Aston Dee Bee (27.09sec)
Alpha Georgiou (27.23sec)
Jimmy Newob (27.29sec)
Super Sook (27.34sec)


Saturday night 10 March – 485 metres
Prize money: $47,000 (1st); $13,335 (2nd); $6,665 (3rd)
1. JIMMY NEWOB, Kelvyn Greenough (Pearcedale VIC)
2. OUT OF RANGE, Seona Thompson (Pearcedale VIC)
3. SUPER SOOK, Vicki Wisener (Hazelwood, VIC)
4. TIEMPO DINERO, Michael Carter (Kialla VIC)
5. SOLITARY GIRL, Raymond Drew (Dennington VIC)
6. ALPHA LUCKY, Jeff Britton (Anakie, VIC)
7. ALPHA GEORGIOU, Jeff Britton (Anakie VIC)
8. ASTON DEE BEE, Seona Thompson (Pearcedale VIC)
9. GREGOROVITCH, Ian Cockerell (Buckley VIC)
10. CALENDAR BOY, Brooke Ennis (Lara VIC)


HEAT 1: Jimmy Newob wins in 27.29sec

HEAT 2: Alpha Lucky wins in 27.23sec

HEAT 3: Tiempo Dinero runs a best of night 27.06sec

HEAT 4: Super Sook wins in 27.34sec

HEAT 5: Aston Dee Bee wins in 27.09sec


Related Posts